'A solid, reliable and consistently successful publisher - a yardstick by which all independents might measure themselves' IPA Judges

The IPG, in partnership with The Bookseller and London Book Fair, held the Independent Publishing Awards on 20 March 2010 at Beaumont House, Old Windsor. The aim of the Awards is to promote the commercial and creative contribution that independent publishers make to the industry – and to the economy.

PRESS RELEASE Saturday 20th March 2010

The Independent Publishers Guild is proud to reveal the winners of the 2010 Independent Publishing Awards, run with The Bookseller and The London Book Fair. The dozen winners are:
  • IPG Independent Publisher of the Year: Earthscan
  • Trade Publisher of the Year: John Blake Publishing
  • Children’s Publisher of the Year: The Salariya Book Company
  • Lightning Source Academic & Professional Publisher of the Year: *Earthscan
  • Education Publisher of the Year: Bright Red Publishing
  • Specialist Consumer Publisher of the Year: Osprey Publishing
  • Nielsen Innovation of the Year: Search Press
  • International Achievement of the Year: Earthscan
  • Environmental Award: Green Books
  • Diversity Award: Trentham Books
  • Digital Award: Top That! Publishing
  • GBS Services to Independent Publishers Award: John Hampson

Heading the 2010 honours board is Earthscan, chosen by the judges as the overall IPG Independent Publisher of the Year as well as Lightning Source Academic & Professional Publisher of the Year. It follows Jessica Kingsley Publishers, Templar Publishing and Alastair Sawday Publishing as the fourth company to win the prestigious overall award — and by winning the International Achievement of the Year prize too, Earthscan becomes only the second company, after Alastair Sawday, to win three Independent Publishing Awards in a single year.

Earthscan faced stiff competition for the flagship award from a shortlist that also included the winners of four other Publisher of the Year categories.

The winners, selected by a panel of industry experts, received their awards on Saturday 20th March at a Gala Dinner at Beaumont House during the IPG’s Annual Conference. Bridget Shine, Executive Director of the IPG, says: “Congratulations to our fourth set of very worthy Independent Publishing Award winners. Even after such a challenging year in the publishing industry, the level of competition for the awards was as high as ever, and we are grateful to our judges for their careful and professional deliberations. These winners represent the very best of independent publishing, and show just varied, dynamic and successful independents can be. The judges’ comments about each of the 12 Independent Publishing Award winners follow.

The judges of this award admired Earthscan’s sound business sense, its passionate commitment to its environmental-based publishing and its bold but carefully calculated international ambitions. They noted in particular Earthscan’s performance and progress in 2009, resulting in striking increases in sales and profits while some other publishers struggled. “Earthscan is a solid, reliable and consistently successful publisher—a yardstick by which all independents might measure themselves.”

Read more here