Channeling finance to sustainable development

The Global Development Network (GDN) is an International Organization of researchers, policy and research institutes promoting the generation, sharing and application to policy of multidisciplinary knowledge for the purpose of development. One of GDN's biggest annual activities is the Global Development Awards and Medals Competition - an innovative award scheme that encourages original research coming out of developing and transition economies. Since its inception in 2000, GDN has awarded roughly US$ 2 million in research and travel grants to finalists and winners. Winners are chosen by an eminent jury at the final event. This event is also GDN's Annual Conference, with an audience of over 500 practitioners in the field of development to whom the finalists present. This year, the Twelfth Annual Global Development Conference will be held in Bogotá, Columbia in January 2011.

Competition Flyer

Calling for research proposals: Japanese Award for Outstanding Research on Development

This award is for applicants submitting research proposals that are seeking to explore any of the three research themes (details here).in an original, innovative way.

Prizes: First Prize: US $30,000; Second Prize: US $5,000

Deadline: 18th October 2010

Research papers: Medals for Research on Development

These medals are for completed research papers of outstanding nature on any of the three research themes (more details here)

Prizes: First Prize: US $10,000; Second prize: US $5,000

Deadline: 18th October 2010

Development Projects: Japanese Award for Most Innovative Development Project

MIDP awards provide an opportunity to development projects being executed in the field to scale up their work though grants.

Prizes: First Prize: US $30,000; Second prize: US $5,000

Deadline: 9th September 2010

Finalists present their entries at the Global Development Network's 12th Annual Global Development Conference in Bogota, Colombia

Further information

For applications and guidelines click here

Contact: awards at